Localizing SKLabelNodes in .sks files

Most of my first scenes I implemented by code instead of the GUI tool, but eventually I thought it could be quite helpful for certain scenes.

I quickly noticed the issue that it was not so straightforward to localize the SKLabelNode texts anymore.

I tried the default method by clicking ‘Localize…’ button in the tool, but that actually made duplicates of the .sks file that I was supposed to change for localizing the texts. This seemed to have the bad side that if I were to make changes to the layout or add new elements, I would have to do it multiple times.

Instead I implemented this bit of code where I unarchive the .sks files. This is what the default unarchive function more or less looks like:

extension SKNode {
    class func unarchiveFromFile(file : NSString) -> SKNode? {

        let path = NSBundle.mainBundle().pathForResource(file, ofType: "sks")

        var sceneData = NSData.dataWithContentsOfFile(path!, options: .DataReadingMappedIfSafe, error: nil)
        var archiver = NSKeyedUnarchiver(forReadingWithData: sceneData)

        archiver.setClass(self.classForKeyedUnarchiver(), forClassName: "SKScene")
        let scene = archiver.decodeObjectForKey(NSKeyedArchiveRootObjectKey) as SKScene
        archiver.finishDecoding()
        scene.scaleMode = .AspectFill
        localizeLabelNodes(scene)
        return scene
    }
}

For this article the interesting bit is the call to localizeLabelNodes. There I do this:

func localizeLabelNodes(scene : SKScene)
{
    for node in scene.children
    {
        if var labelNodeText = (node as? SKLabelNode)?.text
        {
            var index = advance(labelNodeText.startIndex, 4)
            if labelNodeText.substringToIndex(index) == "L:::"
            {
                var langId = labelNodeText.substringFromIndex(index)
                (node as? SKLabelNode)?.text = NSLocalizedString(langId, comment: langId)
            }
        }
    }
}

So basically I enumerate the SKLabelNodes of the scene, and if the text matches the pattern “L:::”, I know that this is something to localize. Then I simply the substring as the translation ID.

Example:
In .sks file, SKLabelNode.text : “L:::New Game”
In localizable.strings (English): “New Game” = “New Game”;
In localizable.strings (Finnish): “New Game” = “Uusi Peli”;

This way when I want to change translations of .sks SKLabelNodes, I can segregate changes to the strings file like elsewhere.

 
17
Kudos
 
17
Kudos

Now read this

Multiplayer ELO score in Swift

I’m in the process of developing my first game for iOS. At first I wanted to include the so-called ELO score in the 2nd or 3rd version of the game, but this week my thoughts came around and now I believe that the competitiveness factor... Continue →